Living Paleo….I am intrigued!

Living Paleo….I am intrigued!

I’m on a bit of a quest for more health tips today and stumbled across a blog that is titled as ‘going paleo’ http://littledutchwife.com/2013/01/03/going-paleo/ .  I’ll be totally honest here and say that this is the first I have heard about this sort of approach (well, I have not seen it referred to as Paleo before) and am now wondering if I have been missing out on a very interesting lifestyle direction for all these years!  Come to think about it, this normally happens most days – I find out something new and interesting and wonder where I have been my whole life (probably in a daydream as usual :-p ) !

I got pretty excited and downloaded a kindle edition of a book called ‘Living Paleo For Dummies’ which I came across on this blog http://www.theclothesmakethegirl.com/2012/12/26/living-paleo-dummies/ .  I guess I just couldn’t wait to get hold of a physical copy of the book and I really want to sink my teeth into my shiny new kindle version over the next couple of days!  I’d just like to add that I’m a real geek when it comes to books and would rather have a physical copy of whatever I fancy reading over a virtual copy any day but this item called for drastic measures!  I’m the same with music, I would choose a physical cd with artwork and lyrics that I can hold in my hands over an mp3 download every time!

Anyway, I digress.  I am excited to get stuck into my new book and will report back with any points I find particularly useful.  See you in a few days!

…..I joke, but this may well happen, haha!

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Living Paleo….I am intrigued!”

  1. Freshnibbles.com - Tiny bites of wisdom for a healthy lifestyle! says :

    The Paleo diet is not as extreme as other diets (like the Atkins), but it still focuses on one major flaw–the exclusion of a food group (specifically grains and dairy). Grains are very important, as they’re a good source of fiber and Vitamin B, and of course you’re limiting your Vitamin D and calcium intake when you limit dairy (milk).

    The key to a diet (though I hate that word–it needs to be a lifestyle change, not something you start and end) is simply moderation and balance–try looking at the DASH diet (http://dashdiet.org), which has strong scientific backing in regards to health and wellness.

    • freakofnature11 says :

      Thanks for your comment! I have never been one to ‘diet’ as I agree that the downfall of the whole diet process for many is that they often use it as a crash course that only lasts for a certain period of time rather than addressing their lifestyle in general and seeing what beneficial changes could be made.

      I am going to have a look into the Paleo ‘diet’ and mostly likely take tips from it and learn from certain aspects but I don’t think it is wise to just eliminate whole food groups completely from a diet (unless they are extremely harmful of course). I do believe that a well-balanced diet with everything in moderation is the key but I am also looking into raw foods and discovering new fruits/vegetables/herbs/seeds/spices/oils etc each day that will improve my overall health.

      Thanks again for your comment and I will make sure that I check your link about the DASH diet 🙂

  2. erinrosalita says :

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, and I’m so glad you’ve discovered paleo/primal and have some “food for thought,” hehe. Let me know if you have any questions — I’m by no means an expert but I’m learning as I’m going and have some tips to make life easier in transition. Best of luck!

    • freakofnature11 says :

      You’re welcome, I really enjoyed your blog and will keep an eye out for your future posts! I definitely will keep you in mind if I have any questions – best of luck with your journey too 🙂

Leave a Reply

Amanda Leigh Flaker

“Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.” Proverbs 4:23

The Sentric Music Blog

Advice for the emerging artists/musicians

Kundalini Spirit

Sharing my spiritual journey and Kundalini awakening with all of you.

Breathe

A Christian Network for Simpler Living

ufntv.org

News & Information For An Awakening World

My Blog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Earth Message Press

Messages of love and guidance channelled by Kay Meade from a group of beings in the higher spiritual realms who call themselves 'The Circle of The Light of The Love Energy". Also Reiki treatments, Reiki training and attunement services offered by Peter Ashley and Kay Meade.

love2ascend

Love, Peace & Harmony

The Shift of Time and Energy!

A blog to take you deeper into understanding what is happening on earth, and how to move thru it with ease and grace!

Your Intuitive Life

Live from the inside out. (tm)

Iamforchange's Blog

Positive growth and change in our world

waywardspirit

In wonder.

VICKTORIOUSLY

BE THE CHANGE

UNIVERSALISM

My Insane Sanity

Higher Density Blog

Love Is Always The Answer

THE LABYRINTH OF LIFE

A deep inquisition in to all that is and all that is not...

Blazing Light, Love's Song

Sparks of Awareness

Malcolm's Corner

Wealth related issues in the broadest sense of the word.

